What I Like to Pack for a Wedding

There’s a phrase I picked up somewhere along the line: It’s better to have something you don’t need then to need something you don’t have.

This is never more true than when preparing for a wedding. I don’t mind over preparing, to ensure that my brides are never stuck looking for something they need, but don’t have. What a horrible feeling. And so, I began making sure that I bring everything that might be needed at a wedding.

A few weeks ago, at the styled shoot at the Brant Beach Yacht Club (you know… the one I can’t stop telling you about how excited I am to share). I pulled out my boxes, and Alex, from Idalia Photography stopped in her tracks. She was impressed. Most professionals have a box of go-to-in-a-pinch fixes that they bring to events. I may have taken it one step further. But it paid off, and I learned a lot that day (no joke!) and I added a few more items to my boxes, like floral wire and wire cutters…to name a few.

I thought I would share with you what I bring to a wedding. And this is just the basics. I add things as needed based on specific venues and brides. Like ribbon that matches their color scheme…

I bring 2 tool boxes to every wedding. One, I’ve nicknamed Beauty, the other, The Beast. Too cheesy? Well, indulge me. It also makes sense based on their contents. Beauty contains anything and everything you might need when getting ready to be beautiful. The Beast contains everything I could ever need to ensure that your vision for your Big Day is as close to what you had envisioned.

Beauty

IMG_1186.JPG

  • Band-aids
  • Baby Wipes: They get out almost anything. And they clean up almost any mess. I haven’t found a way to easily bring Windex and paper towels (my go-to at home cleaner). In a pinch, baby wipes can even provide the opportunity to “freshen up.” You’d be amazed how quickly I go through these.
  • Sunscreen
  • Hand Sanitizer
  • Hand lotion
  • Mouth Wash and/or Breath mints
  • Safety Pins
  • Rubber bands
  • Krazy Glue: Great for quick manicure and nail repairs. Always store this in a plastic baggie in case it leaks–that goes for all glues.
  • Advil and Tylenol
  • Anti-diuretic
  • Antacids
  • Lint Roller
  • Hair spray
  • Straight pins: In case you have to sew something
  • Tweezers
  • Black Sharpies
  • Bobby pins
  • Small Measuring Tape
  • Wrinkle Release: My father-in-law taught me to make my own, 1/2 fabric softener, 1/2 water.
  • Small Sewing Kit: I usually will pack an small spool of thread that matches the bridesmaid’s color
  • Pencil/Eraser
  • Cuticle scissors
  • Nail Files
  • Scissors
  • Double sided tape: Great for an emergency hem or a too-deep plunging neckline
The Beast
  • Paint Brushes
  • Table Brush
  • Staple Gun and Staples
  • Duct Tape
  • Masking Tape
  • Scotch Tape
  • Double Sided Tape (I put this in both boxes)
  • Head Lamp Style Flash Light (Yes, I learned the hard way that it’s never a bad idea to have a flash light handy that you can wear on your head—to free up your hands while you’re working. I keep these all over my house, and in my tool boxes.)
  • Tiny Hole Punch
  • Regular Size Hole Punch
  • Large Measuring Tape
  • Variety of Twine and String
  • Fabric Glue
  • White Glue
  • Krazy Glue
  • Glue Stick
  • Thumb tacks
  • Ribbon that matches the wedding’s colors
  • Picture Stand
  • Rubber bands
  • White Dot Stickers (These have a way of blending in nicely with most decor. Often, I have used them to make a thumb tack less noticeable)
  • Scissors
  • X-Acto knife
  • Pencil/Eraser
  • Magic Eraser
  • More Safety Pins
  • Floral wire and wire cutters
  • Matches
  • Small Tool Case
    • Hammer, level, Phillips/flat-head screw driver, wrench, and pliers

IMG_1201

Is it too much? I don’t know, but having all of this stuff with me alleviates a lot of my own worries knowing that I have everything my brides might need. These boxes are a work in progress. I add to them constantly. I was just thinking about a small stick of deodorant (clear) and some blotting papers… as I was writing this.

I recently upgraded my tool boxes to a prettier set of boxes. Beauty doesn’t really want to be in a boring green tool box. How do I know? It’s a beauty secret. (See what I did there?)

 

Leave a Reply

